Jim has been a faculty member at Duke University for over 30 years, where he holds the positions of Duke School of Medicine Professor of Neurosciences in the Departments of Neurobiology, Neurology, and Pharmacology. He also serves as Director of the Center for Translational Neuroscience. Jim's research seeks to elucidate the mechanisms of epileptogenesis, the process by which a normal brain becomes epileptic. He is the founder of the Duke Center for the Advanced Study of Epilepsy, and is a former director of the Epilepsy Center at the Durham Veterans Affairs Medical Center. Jim has served as President of the American Epilepsy Society, and was elected to the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences in 2005. He has received two Javits Neuroscience Investigator awards from the NIH, and a Freedom to Discover award from the Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation. Jim is a highly regarded leader in the fields of neurology and neuroscience, authoring more than 300 publications and abstracts, and contributing to leading textbooks in the field.

Jim has been a member of the Pappas Ventures Scientific Advisory Board since 2006.


Marquette University
University of Michigan (MD)
Salk Institute, Laboratory of Stephen Heinemann, PhD (Sabbatical in Molecular Neurobiology)